Moderator: Ninjee

Tech issues for Gameranger - Multiplayer

Ninjee
Pro
Pro
Joined: 16:38 - Jul 30, 2011

17:26 - Sep 25, 2016 #1

For those who are experiencing technical issues with other players being italics themselves on gameranger.
Italics is a problem that usually consists of router issues or something as simple as needing to clear cache and temp folder. Being italics to other players means you wont connect with them and needs to be fixed.




Network Changes in GameRanger

GameRanger has introduced a significant new feature that bypasses the common problems that modems and routers cause with hosting (and sometimes joining) games. No setup or configuration is required, and all just works automatically.
In rare cases, some users with certain types of routers may still have problems joining or hosting, particularly if they have firewalls that are explicitly blocking ports. You will know if you are having network issues before you even launch the game because your name will remain in italics in the game room even after 10 seconds after joining the game room. If you can join other rooms or host games for other people just fine, it may be that host that has the network problems.

If you do have a troublesome router, you can fix the problem by configuring the router to enable Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), or manually do port forwarding for UDP port 16000. See Hosting Help for information about port forwarding. If you have a firewall, you'll need to stop it from blocking that port.
Last edited by Ninjee on 21:21 - Sep 26, 2016, edited 4 times in total.



Keeping the dream alive!

^_^
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Snowsurf
Newbie
Newbie
Joined: 11:49 - Oct 23, 2016

1:33 - May 12, 2017 #2

I am unable to login to gameranger. It just hangs on 'logging in' after the initial setup. I opened it in the windows firewall via application, any other ideas?
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Ninjee
Pro
Pro
Joined: 16:38 - Jul 30, 2011

1:37 - May 12, 2017 #3

Hey Snowsurf! Did you Install Adobe Flash Player? Gameranger requires you to update and install it.
Last edited by Ninjee on 1:38 - May 12, 2017, edited 1 time in total.



Keeping the dream alive!

^_^
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Snowsurf
Newbie
Newbie
Joined: 11:49 - Oct 23, 2016

2:22 - May 12, 2017 #4

Yes, I just reinstalled it but it still hangs.

Here is an image of what happens:
http://i65.tinypic.com/2vbpzsh.png

Just hangs on that screen continuously.
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Snowsurf
Newbie
Newbie
Joined: 11:49 - Oct 23, 2016

2:48 - May 12, 2017 #5

Well I figured that out, but now it doesn't seem to want to join your game. I pointed to the MCX.exe path, but when I double click on Legend's game nothing happens.
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Snowsurf
Newbie
Newbie
Joined: 11:49 - Oct 23, 2016

4:08 - May 12, 2017 #6

Ok I think it is my router, but I don't have my routher username. Gameranger complained about port 16000. Looking into it now.
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Ninjee
Pro
Pro
Joined: 16:38 - Jul 30, 2011

15:05 - May 12, 2017 #7

Network Changes in GameRanger

GameRanger has introduced a significant new feature that bypasses the common problems that modems and routers cause with hosting (and sometimes joining) games. No setup or configuration is required, and all just works automatically.
In rare cases, some users with certain types of routers may still have problems joining or hosting, particularly if they have firewalls that are explicitly blocking ports. You will know if you are having network issues before you even launch the game because your name will remain in italics in the game room even after 10 seconds after joining the game room. If you can join other rooms or host games for other people just fine, it may be that host that has the network problems.

If you do have a troublesome router, you can fix the problem by configuring the router to enable Universal Plug and Play (UPnP), or manually do port forwarding for UDP port 16000. See Hosting Help for information about port forwarding. If you have a firewall, you'll need to stop it from blocking that port.

Sounds to me like your ip is static try resetting modem or flushing dnscache

netsh winsock reOn the elevated command prompt


netsh winsock reset
ipconfig /release
ipconfig /renew
ipconfig /flushdns
Last edited by Ninjee on 15:09 - May 12, 2017, edited 2 times in total.



Keeping the dream alive!

^_^
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share

Ninjee
Pro
Pro
Joined: 16:38 - Jul 30, 2011

10:19 - Jul 17, 2018 #8

Gameranger no longer requires Adobe Flash Player.



Keeping the dream alive!

^_^
Quote
Like
Dislike
Share